Skip to content ↓ | Skip to navigation ↓

Facebook has taken steps to analyze password data leaked from the Adobe breach in order to alert users whose accounts may be vulnerable to compromise because they used the same passwords.

Affected users will see the following notification directing them to change their login credentials, and notifying them that their accounts have been blocked from public view until the changes have been completed:


“We actively look for situations where the accounts of people who use Facebook could be at risk—even if the threat is external to our service. When we find these situations, we present messages like the one in the screenshot to help affected people secure their accounts,” said Facebook spokesperson Jay Nancarrow.

Adobe officials last month confirmed that the company was the victim of a long term network breach which exposed consumer data including passwords and credit card information, as well as exposing the source code for some of their leading products.

Initial reports indicated that the company believed that as many as “2.9 million Adobe customers, including customer names, encrypted credit or debit card numbers, expiration dates, and other information relating to customer orders.”

Adobe later said that their “investigation has confirmed that the attackers obtained access to Adobe IDs and (what were at the time valid), encrypted passwords for approximately 38 million active users.”

Adobe initially acknowledged the breach after Brian Krebs of KrebsOnSecurity had connected the incident to a recently discovered compromise of multiple consumer data brokers, including LexisNexis, Dun & Bradstreet, and Kroll Background America.

Read More Here…